“Soccer and Rap With a Screwed Up Twist”

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

About a week ago a classmate of mine suggested I make my blog more appealing to people who aren’t as sport-oriented as myself. So, I started to think… “what are some aspects of soccer that a common person, who isn’t crazy about athletics would find really interesting.” After, a couple of moments, a few mediocre ideas, I settled on….music. Music is a great common ground for people everywhere; no matter what the background of the person, what their preference of musical genre, or what their major interests are in life. Everyone likes music, and everyone can relate to music.

phillysoccerpage.net

Keeping that in mind, I figured I’d introduce you all to Clint Dempsey.

Clint Dempsey is my favorite American footballer. I could probably list a hundred reasons why I love him, but here are my top three:

1. He’s hott.

2. He has great goal scoring celebrations, which tend to be the last dance moves.

And, 3. I love his style of play. He’s such a great, hard working, skillful player, and it’s made him a vital part of the US Men’s National Team.

Dempsey played Division 1 soccer at Furman University before leaving one year early to play in the MLS. He played on the New England Revolution for three seasons before heading overseas to play in the English Premier League (EPL). He currently plays on the club Fulham in the EPL, which is the best soccer league in England, and one of the top leagues in the world.

Dempsey was the only American to score a goal in 2006 FIFA World Cup, and I’m sure most people remember his tying goal against England in last summer’s 2010 FIFA World Cup.

However, what most people don’t know about Clint Dempsey is that beyond soccer, he has a passion for hip hop music. When involved with music he uses the alias “Deuce,” and associates with of the Screwed Up Click, along with fellow Texas rappers XO and the late Houston rapper Big Hawk.  In 2006, Dempsey and the Screwed Up Click released a hit song and music video “Don’t Tread” for a Nike football advertising campaign for the 2006 World Cup . After all, what a better way to showcase both the sport of soccer, and the United States team qualifying for the World Cup. 

The song’s video is dedicated to Dempsey’s sister Jennifer, who, at age sixteen, died suddenly from a brain aneurysm. At the conclusion of the video Dempsey places a flower on her grave in honor of her memory.

So we’ve heard of musicians becoming movie stars, and athletes making guest appearances in music videos, but what are your thoughts on athletes becoming musicians?

Comments
  1. Afro says:

    I understand that I am making a generalization, but I think if someone is a good athlete, then they are probably a worse musician and I’m thinking of rap is specific. I’m pretty sure they might be able to play the piano or another instrument, but as a popular rapper. I’m thinking of Shaq.

  2. Arteest says:

    A soccer player rapping with the Screwed Up click. That’s very interesting. But damn, that was back in 2006. Does he still rap or did he quit?

    • jayspence says:

      I haven’t heard of anything else he’s done since this song, so I’d say as of now he quit, but hey who knows if he’ll come out with anything in the future.

Leave a Reply

